Soggy shoes…

Took a little walk along the beach a couple days ago while I waited for Jess to get out of an event in Newport Beach. I had no real intentions of shooting anything since I was still a few hours away from sunset, but a cloud rolled in and blocked out enough of the sun to get a few frames off.

You might notice that in the jetty photos the first two are on top of the jetty and the next two are on the side of the jetty right by the water. That’s because no matter how hard I try I can never resist getting closer and closer to the water. If you look at a series of photos you can usually see that with every frame I progressivley get closer to the water. This generally does not turn out in my favor and this day was no different.

I managed to get away from the jetty without getting wet or dumping any gear, but the last two frames I was not so lucky. There is a reason it looks like the water is all around me. I got distracted by a text message from Jess asking me to come pick her up. I looked up from my phone just in time to see a small wave swamp me and my shoes.

Generally this is no biggie I always have extra shoes in my car for this sort of occasion, but of course I was not driving my car that day. The result? A lovely dinner at Ho Sum Bistro with soggy shoes and wet pants.

Leave a comment